Home > DC Comics > Animal Man (1988 Series) #11

Animal Man (1988 Series) #11

July 13, 2012

Title: Out of Africa

Writer: Grant Morrison
Art: Chas Truog & Doug Hazlewood
Letters: John Costanza
Colors: Tatjana Wood
Cover Art: Brian Bolland
Editor: Karen Berger
Publisher: DC Comics

Getting into the meat of his run, in this issue Grant Morrison had Animal Man and Vixen in Africa, running afoul of a strange pair who have unusual designs on the pair. Meanwhile, the strange aliens who gave Buddy Baker his powers in the first place are back, tampering with his life from behind the scenes.

I have to admit, having an inkling of what’s coming up, the Vixen/Africa storyline isn’t really holding my attention the way it should. The subplot about the aliens, about Buddy’s true origin, and where the comic is going have me much more interested. That’s what I really want to follow here, and the book isn’t getting me there as fast as I would like. It’s hard to put yourself in the mindset of the reader from 23 years ago, who didn’t know where the story was going, much as I wish it could.

As usual, Chas Truog’s art isn’t helping matters for me. The stuff with Buddy, Vixen, and the aliens is okay. The villains actually don’t look bad at all. But when we go back to the rest of our cast, to where Ellen and her friend try to piece things together, or when we see other humans besides Buddy at all… it just doesn’t work.

I’m hoping to ramp up my reading of this book, because I’m ready to get to the good stuff.

Rating: 7/10

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

