Home > Dark Horse Comics > Sugarshock #1

Sugarshock #1

October 24, 2009

Sugarshock #1 (Dark Horse Comics)
By Joss Whedon & Fabio Moon

The next book in Dark Horse‘s “One-Shot Wonders” promotion reprints a three-part story from Myspace Dark Horse Presents. In his newest creation, Joss Whedon presents a girl band (well… three girls plus one robot) who get summoned to another planet to battle for the future of the human race, only to reveal some pretty bizarre things about themselves on the way. Although I’ve come to expect Whedon to come up with different sorts of stories, this one is way beyond his usual realm of kookiness. The characters, the situation, the dialogue, all feels like he dumped out all the different, unusual chunks of his imagination into one story. The result isn’t bad — he’s created some unique characters and some very funny bits. It doesn’t quite rise to the level of his better creations, but it’s entertaining enough in its own right, certainly entertaining enough to read online for free. Fabio Moon‘s artwork fits the story very well. The layouts are good, the designs are great, and the execution is solid. It’s a fun little book, and I’ll be certain to look for more online if they do any more.
Rating: 3.5/5

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: