Home > DC Comics > Elric: The Making of a Sorcerer #1

Elric: The Making of a Sorcerer #1

September 18, 2004

Quick Rating: Good
Title: The First Dream: Bargains in Blades

Young Prince Elric embarks upon his first dream-quest!

Writer: Michael Moorcock
Art: Walter Simonson
Colors: Steve Oliff
Letters: John Workman
Editor: Joey Cavalieri
Cover Art: Walter Simonson
Publisher: DC Comics

I am at something of a disadvantage reviewing this book –although I’ve heard about Michael Moorcock’s Elric saga, I’ve never read any of the novels in the series and don’t really know much about it. Fortunately, this book seems to be something of a prequel, and as such it supplies me with all the information I need.

In the far past (or perhaps far future) kingdom of Melniboné, the time is coming to select a new emperor. Some factions favor the Emperor’s nephew, Prince Yyrkoon, a scheming, malevolent man who seeks to take the throne that belongs to the rightful heir, Prince Elric. Elric, however, is viewed as weak and sickly by some, a creature held only together by magic, whose reign is destined to be short. Elric, however, is seeking knowledge, and as such is preparing for a dream-quest that will last a full year – the first of many such quests, the others of which will last longer.

I would probably enjoy this more if I was familiar with Elric or his world, but even unfamiliar as I was I had no trouble following the story and found it intriguing. Walter Simonson’s artwork, however, is a total knockout. He was born to draw this sort of high fantasy/science fiction blend, showing equal aplomb with odd technology and with sizzling magic. A few pages spent in a dragon’s lair are absolutely fantastic – they couldn’t have found a better artist to handle this series.

I liked this first issue. I didn’t love it, but I liked it. If you’re a fan of Moorcock’s and you enjoy the Elric novels, bump the rating up a point. If you’re unfamiliar, like I am, this isn’t a bad place to start at all.

Rating: 7/10

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

